Portraits of an Angel

It’s been a while!

I’ve been taking some time off to renovate my new house, hence the delay in posts! And when I say I’ve been busy renovating my house, what I really mean is my Dad and my long suffering spouse-to-be have been renovating it.

I’ve been on tea and coffee duty…..

So, since it’s been a while, I thought I’d have a few hours off from pointing out where the other half had “missed a bit” while painting, and grab my trusty Nikon.

There was barely an eye-roll in sight….

So, first up –

Angel of the North angled view

Angel of the North (angled view)

I know; not a great title, right?

This is the Angel of the North; the huge monument erected by Anthony Gormley on the edge of the A1 next to Birtley in Gateshead, which welcomes travellers to the North of England.

And when I say the North, I mean the North; Manchester and Liverpool are NOT in the North!

The Angel is one of the most Photographed sites in the North-east, so I wanted to try and differ my shots slightly. I focused on the head area of the Angel, rather than the traditional full body pose; this decision was easy to make as there were a lot of Chavs hanging around at the bottom of the statue sharing a bottle of cider.

Not the look I was going for.

Next up –

The Head of an Angel

The Head of an Angel

This one is a little more straight forward, but I like it nonetheless. It reminds me of a cross between the Destroyer from the movie Thor, and the robot from the cover of the Queen album, News of the World.

So…..yeah. If you like robots, this is the picture for you….

That’s it for now, time to stop shirking and get back to my tea duties…

Check out my Galleries at https://marcbatesphotography.smugmug.com

Ciao

Marc

 

 

Leave a Reply

